The Beatty House, a designated provincial historic resource, is a picturesque landmark for the town, as well as a unique and charming venue for community functions and cultural events.
The grounds surrounding the Beatty House are a lovely extension of the natural beauty of summer and offer a quiet refuge for individuals or groups who wish to enjoy a picnic lunch or simply sit and rest awhile. Trees and shrub plantings, a rock garden, flower beds, a restored fieldstone perimeter wall with its original free stranding stone piers and a fire pit and bird bath add to the structural beauty of the grounds.
The house, itself, is open daily 9 a.m. to noon and 1 to 5 p.m. June through August and tours are offered throughout the day.
Donations are gratefully accepted by the Beatty Heritage House Society to help keep the house and grounds in pristine condition and pay for overhead costs.
The charming little piece of history, nestled in the heart of downtown was originally owned by Jack Beatty, a successful hardware owner in Rimbey. It was built in 1925 by local carpenter Joe Jones.
When Jack passed away in 1956, his wife Violet continued to live in the house for several years.
Jones incorporated locally milled lumber and other natural building materials as well as innovatively using plaster for improved insulation.
The interior of the house has hardwood floors, exposed decorative wood ceiling beams, a living room fireplace built from petrified wood and stone complete with ceramic tiled hearth and wood mantelpiece.
The built-in kitchen nook has high-backed dining benches and an integral table. The kitchen cupboards, flour bins, drawers and china cabinet are all original as are the light fixtures, plug-ins and switches.
Brass door knobs, heating grates, curtain and plumbing fixtures are also original.
For more information or to book a function contact Florence Stemo at 403-843-3443.
Anyone wishing to become a member of the Beatty Heritage House Society may contact Jackie Anderson at 403-843-6518.