Skip to content

Bentley’s 46th rodeo draws good crowds

The 46th Bentley rodeo is history as of August 10, 11, 2012. Excellent crowds attended each night.

The 46th Bentley rodeo is history as of August 10, 11, 2012. Excellent crowds attended each night. Sponsors and donors continue to support the event.

Winner of the High Point Saddle donated by the town of Bentley was Royden Griffith from Hannah who placed 1st in Saddle Bronc and 3rd in the Bareback Bronc event.

The Jr. High Point Buckle was won by Brett Kampjes from Morinville who won the 13-15 year old Breakaway Roping.

First and second placings in events are listed where applicable.

Saddle Bronc - 1. Royden Griffith from Hanna, 2. Ron Boston, Alix

Bareback - 1. Houston Stewart from Bluffton, 2. Garrett Dunn, Balzac

Team Roping - 1. Chad Robinson & Cassie Robinson from Buck Lake, 2. Steve Maddox & Wade Meston, Tees

Tie Down Roping - 1. Bill Melaney from Rocky Mountain House, 2. Keifer Grover, Endiang

Ladies Barrel Racing - 1. Stephanie Hart from Hanna, 2. Jenn Turner, Beiseker

7-12 Barrel racing - 1. Olivia Block from Edson, 2. Keeley Grover, Endiang

13-15 Barrel Racing -1. Morgan Chodzicki from Clive, 2. Hope Skocdopole, Big Valley

13-15 Breakaway Roping - 1. Brett Kampjes, Morinville

12 & under Breakaway Roping – No Qualified Times

7-12 Steer Riding - 1. Rylee Storey from Clive, 2. JW Hart, Hanna

13-15 Steer Riding - 1. Logan Elder from Hanna, and tied for 2/3. Denver Sisson from Spruce View and Jordan Bauer from Donalda

Bull Riding - 1. Jacob Stahl from Clive, 2. Tony Montour, Hobbema

Wild Cow Milking - 1. Michelle Lawton, Tanner Lawton & Myron Vick team, 2. Chris Wilson team

This year there was the Wild Pony Race event for those 12 years old and under. The Marko team with Logan Marko, Amber Franke & Abi Hartzler from Carstairs won it, with the Block team second.

Once again Russ Finlay announced. Judges were Doug Rogers and Dennis Leis. Keith Pengelly and Trevor Marcinek were the pick-up men. Stock came from Pengelly Rodeo, Pollitt Productions and Michelle Lawton, with hay from the Bentley Colony.

Elaine Reigner from Winfield was the lucky saddle raffle winner. Proceeds from the raffle will go to the Children’s Wish Foundation.

This year the Rodeo Volunteer Plaque Inductees recognized for their involvement and volunteerism over the years were Shirley Butcher, Harvey Haarstad, and Alken Basin Drilling.

“The Rodeo would like to extend a big thank you to all of our dedicated volunteers, fans and sponsors who make it possible to continue year after year,” stated Jeremy Park, President of the Bentley Rodeo Committee.