Bentley grads celebrate a ‘Time To Shine’

By June Norvila

The theme chosen for the 2009 Bentley school graduation exercises was ‘Time To Shine’, and that is just what the 31 students of the Bentley Class of 2009 did on Friday, May 22 at the Blindman Valley Ag Centre in Bentley.

Masters of Ceremonies for the supper for graduates and invited guests that preceded the public part of the evening were Duncan Henry and Natawni Codd.

Grace was offered by Pastor Greg Rathjen, the toast to the parents by Darren Smith, with the reply by Bev Abt. Kyle Lenz conveyed the toast to the teachers, with the reply by teacher Mr. Jason Hazlett.

Breanna Shannon and Scott Tronnes gave a power point presentation.

School principal Mr. Lane Moore introduced the graduates, and Pastor Greg Rathjen delivered the invocation.

Bentley Mayor Joan Dickau offered wishes from the town, and Ward 4 trustee Mrs. Karin Engen offered congratulations on behalf of Wolf Creek Public Schools.

Class historians were Shelby Brown and Josh Deschambault and the class valedictorians were Jessica Abt and Darren Smith. (See their addresses in the May 26 edition of the Rimbey Review).

Guest speaker was Mr. Mark Porter.

Many awards were announced and presented.

Honor medallions, as acknowledged by Mr. Lane Moore, were earned by 11 students: Jessica Abt, Zach Dempsey, Josh Deschambault, Kalie Dykstra, Kyle Lenz, Nicole Mueller, Jeff Northcott, Darren Smith, Dalton Laplante, Stephen McPhee and Tim Ursuliak.

For the second time there is financial sponsorship available for two Best All-Round Student Awards upon completion of meeting the qualifications. Candidate for the Bentley Library Society $500 Best All-Round Female Student Award is Jessica Abt and for the $500 Best All-Round Male Student Award is Darren Smith. Presenter was Bentley Library Society treasurer Mrs. Arlene Tanasiuk.

For participation in school sports, staff members Mr. Gord Graves and Mr. Mark Richter presented a Major Athletic Award to Josh Deschambault and Minor Athletic Awards to Jessica Abt, Shelby Brown, Anesea Heagy, Stephen McPhee, Nicole Mueller and Darren Smith.

The Outstanding Female Athlete award went to Shelby Brown and the Outstanding Male Athlete award to Stephen McPhee as announced by Mr. Mark Richter and presented by Elks Exhaulted Ruler Chris Simpson.

The Students’ Union Award was presented to Josh Deschambault from staff member Ms. Christine Wu.

Jessica Abt received the ATA Award from staff member Mr. Merv Leidl and also won the Highest Mark in the Sciences, sponsored by the Bentley Agricultural Society, and presented by staff member Ms. Christine Wu.

Tim Ursuliak earned both the Michael’s Studio Scholarship and the Highest Mark in English 30 as presented by staff member Ms. Connie Swarbrick.

Zach Dempsey earned the Highest Mark in Social 30 as presented by teacher Mr. Jason Hazlett.

Darren Smith received the Highest Mark in Math 30/31 combined, sponsored by the Parent Council, from presenter staff member Mrs. Brenda Von Kuster.

The Wolf Creek Public Schools Career and Technology Studies Scholarship went to Kyle Rose and other Wolf Creek Scholarships to Shelby Brown and Jesse Young. They were presented by Mrs. Karin Engen.

Scott Tronnes won the Sunny 94 Radio Scholarship that was presented by Mr. Jason Hazlett on behalf of the radio station.

Kyle Lenz was awarded the Bentley Seed Cleaning Plant Scholarship and qualifies for the $500 Bentley Agricultural Society Scholarship as acknowledged by Mr. Lane Moore.

The Cheryl Screpnek Memorial Humanitarian Award recipient was Nicole Mueller and was presented by Mrs. Sherry Haarstad.

The Bentley Class of 2009 are: Jessica Abt, Lauren Alford, Shelby Brown, Zach Dempsey, Joshua Deschambault, Kalie Dykstra, Megan Fraser, Anesea Heagy, Chelsey Hornett, Jessica Huehn, Breanna Lansall, Dalton Laplante, Kyle Lenz, Stacia McKinley, Hayden McLeod, Stephen McPhee, Nicole Mueller, Jeffrey Northcott, Jordan Parry, Jordan Philibert, Jamie Posma, Justin Pye, Kyle Rose, Rylee Scott, Breanna Shannon, Darren Smith, Lindsay Thiels, Scott Tronnes, Timothy Ursuliak, Russell Wilton, and Jesse Young.

In the fall, after receiving the final high school transcripts, the recipient of the Governor General Award will be announced.