Rimbey high school students recognized


By Treena Mielke

Class valedictorian Riley Properzi, the winner of the Governor General’s Academic Medal and the valedictorian award, was also recognized with several other awards during the Rimbey high school’s 2011 graduation ceremonies Sept. 24.

Properzi won the male athletic extracurricular award sponsored by Rimbey Auction Mart, the mathematics 30 pure award sponsored by Rimbey Value Drug Mart and the math 31 award sponsored by MNP (formerly Meyers, Norris & Penny).

He was also the recipient of the physics 30 award sponsored by the Rimbey Catholic Women’s League, the Chemistry 30 Gordon Rude Memorial sponsored by Keyera Energy and the French 30 award sponsored by Cooperators Insurance.

The Grade 12 graduate also took home the Biology 30 award sponsored by Rimbey Hospital and Care Centre and the Will Hoar Math/Science Award sponsored by Don Dewar.

Other awards given out at the graduation are as follows:

Grade 9 award sponsored by Rimbey Junior High School Students’ Association went to Morgan Vandenhoven.

The Grade 10 award sponsored by the Royal Canadian Legion Auxiliary went to Erika Trenson.

The Grade 11 award sponsored by the Royal Canadian Legion went to Lynette Allemand.

The Lindberg Higher Education Award was won by Vanesa Service.

The Chris & Betty Harvey Memorial Scholarship was won by Chantel Went. She also won the Masonic Lodge Education Bursary sponsored by Grande Lodge of Alberta.

Jalaine Anderson and Laramie Hollingsworth won the Alberta High School Rodeo Association Award. Anderson also won the Student of Merit Award sponsored by the Knights of Columbus.

Rylund Lawson won the Wyatt Bauer Memorial Award sponsored by Norma and James Bauer.

Kevin Vandenhoven was the recipient of the Skeels Family Agriculture Award sponsored by Dan and Karen Skeels. Vandenhoven also won the Bentley Seed Cleaning Plant Scholarship.

The winner of the Dale Ewanchuk Memorial Award (Roger) was presented to Beau Sincennes and sponsored by the Ewanchuk family and the RJHS staff.

Logan Siebold won the Jenny Noble Memorial Award sponsored by Ponoka Fire Brigade Society and Allen B Olson Auction Service. He also was the recipient of the Grad Class of 1960 Scholarship sponsored by the 1960 grad committee.

Kevin Vandenhoven was the winner of the Agricultural Award sponsored by Rimbey Agricultural Society.

Amy Hawkings and Darryl Trautman were the recipients of the Rimbey Co-op Award.

Carson Tarnasky was the winner of the Sunny 94 Scholarship.

Rebecca Olson won the Rimbey Lions Legacy Scholarship Award.

Amy Hawkings won the All Round Student Award sponsored by Rimbey Kinsmen Club.

Keith Kenney won the Halvar C. Jonson Scholarship.

Christy Weiss won the John Dale Parry CA Memorial Scholarship. She also won the Female Athletic Extra Curricular Award sponsored by ECKRIM Agencies.

Markus Felder was the recipient of the S. Grumbach Memorial Scholarship.

Janessa Matthew won the CHEER (Casey Howard Effort and Enthusiasm Recognition Award) sponsored by Classic Embroidery & Cast-A-Waste Inc. Matthew also won the Health Care Scholarship sponsored by Rimbey Hospital & Care Centre.

Jacey Entz and Cailynn Hatala won the Wolf Creek Award sponsored by Wolf Creek School Division.

The Wolf Creek CTS award was presented to Spencer St. Denis.

The CTS merit Contractors Association Award went to Michael Steeves.

The Art 30 Award sponsored by Michael’s Studio was won by Carson Tarnasky.

Kaitlyn Noonan won the Food Studies 30 Award sponsored by Donald McFadyen.

The Work Experience 35 Award sponsored by Rimbey Chamber of Commerce went to Joanna McWhirter, Nicole Duckett, Megan Olson and Chelsey Kinsella. McWhirter also won the Eva Tona Bandoni Estate award sponsored the Eva Tona Bandoni Estate and the ATA Education Award sponsored by Wolf Creek Teacher Local No. 3.

Olson also won the Computer Processing 30 award sponsored by Oberhammer Funeral Chapels and the Rimbey Lions Legacy Scholarship Award.

The Social Studies 30-1 Award sponsored by Rimbey Veterinary Clinic went to Vanesa Service.

Jon Frayn won the Social Studies 30-2 award sponsored by Gull Lake Golf Course.

Amy Hawkings won the English 30-1 Award sponsoredby Rimbey Foods.

The English 30-2 Fred Hull Memorial sponsored by John Hull went to Corrinna Howard.

Michael Steeves won the Physical Education 30 Boys Award sponsored by Wilson’s Funeral Chapel.

The Physical Education 30 Girls Award sponsored by Jean Cranston memorial went to Camille Trautman and Christy Weiss. Weiss also won the Female Athletic Extra Curricular Award.

Brittany Albach won the Drama 30 Award sponsored by Rimbey Co-op Association.

The Mathematics 30 Applied Award sponsored by Rimbey Eye Care went to Steven McDonagh.

The Students’ Association Award went to Kaylyn Lukocs, and the SADD Award sponsored by Bev Nicholas went to Nicole Duckett and Janessa Matthew.

Kevin Giroux won the Greatest Improvement Award sponsored by the staff of Rimbey Medical Clinic.

Just Posted

Rimbey’s Hell on Hooves a bucking good time

Bull Riders Canada’s tour stop in Rimbey was held at the Rimbey Agriplex on March 23.

Rimbey Jr/Sr High teacher nominated for award

Kolt Bell is Wolf Creek Public Schools’ nominee for the 2019 Edwin Parr Award

Supporters rally for Jason Kenney as UCP leader stops in Red Deer

Kenney promises equalization reform, stopping ‘Trudeau-Notley’ payroll hike, trade, economic mobility

UPDATED: Boys and Girls Club looking for new home in Rimbey

The organization has lost their dedicated space at the Peter Lougheed Community Centre

Rimbey RCMP ask people to watch for ‘funny money’

RCMP says local businesses have received counterfeit currency in recent transactions

Edmonton judge rules Omar Khadr’s sentence has expired

Eight-year sentence imposed in 2010 would have ended last October had Khadr remained in custody

Social media comments continue to dog ranks of United Conservative candidates

Eva Kiryakos was running in Calgary-South East in the April 16 vote

Norway opens probe into why cruise ship ventured into storm

The Viking Sky was headed for southern Norway when it had engine problems on Saturday afternoon

Apple announces its long-awaited streaming TV service

The iPhone has long been Apple’s marquee product and main money maker, but sales are starting to decline

Trudeau delivers campaign-style speech while introducing candidate Taggart

The Order of British Columbia recipient said she wants to be the people’s voice in Ottawa

15 Canadians on cruise ship that was stranded off Norway; one injured

The cruise ship was carrying 1,373 passengers and crew when it issued a mayday call on Saturday afternoon

Terror at sea: Helicopter rescues frightened cruise passengers in Norway

The Viking Sky cruise ship was carrying 1,300 passengers and crew when it experienced engine trouble

DOJ: Trump campaign did not co-ordinate with Russia in 2016

Attorney General William Barr said special counsel “does not exonerate” Trump of obstructing justice

Most Read