West Country Outreach honours graduates



The graduating class of West Country Outreach School, resplendent in their formal attire, presented a perfect visual testimony to their theme of Creating Possibilities.

Principal Sheila Swier was the guest speaker at the graduation and awards ceremonies held at the Rimbey Community Centre June 17.

“Our graduates, your sons and daughters, will indeed learn the value and inevitability of creating possibilities, from this moment on,” said Swier, who spoke to the packed room of wellwishers, graduates and award winners.

In an emotion-filled speech, Swier left the graduates with some well-chosen words of advice for their future.

“Choose to do something that fills you with excitement,” she said. “Look at me. I love to teach, to make a difference in the lives I encounter. I am passionate about what I do, and that passion carries me through the difficult times so I never give into the temptation to quit. I have found my passion. Now it’s your turn. Discover that passion, whether it be sketching tattoos, designing clothing, helping others, or working with numbers.”

“Focus on the goal at hand. Be present. Be on time. Walk the walk and talk the talk rather than merely giving lip service,” Swier advised.

“Sometimes you will fail, but don’t give up. Instead, redo, retry, go at it again. Learn from your mistakes and move on.”

Swier encouraged the grads to be proud of their accomplishments, celebrate the little successes along the way and revise and edit as necessary.

Prior to Swier’s speech and the graduates receiving diplomas, awards were handed out to the following students:

Junior high awards went to Taylor Snell for best effort and Kohlbi Alexandre for most improved. Thomas Anglin took the award for best effort in Grade 10, Tyler Goetz for best effort in Grade 11 and Brett Brown for best effort in Grade 12.

The most improved senior high award went to Justin Stevenett, the physical education leadership award went to Laura Simpson and the senior high outdoor education leadership award went to Haley Grundy.

Stacey Adie won the Sunny 94 Award and Brina Wengberg was the recipient of the art award.

The junior/senior high literacy award went to Dylan Carruthers, and Shae Bast won the parent council award.

The work experience award went to Stephanie Giroux, and Alexis Stewart won the students against drunk driving award.

Brina Wengberg won the ambassador of the school award.

The math 30A award went to Logan Siebold, and the math 30P award was picked up by Reid Swier.

The social studies 30-1 award went to Taylor Smith, and Dylan Carruthers was the recipient of the social studies 30-2 award.

Taylor Smith and Reid Swier won the English 30-1 award, and Beau Sincennes and Marcus Felder won the English 30-2 award.

The senior high science award went to Hayden Narwot, and Ashley Chesney won the Lois Holmes Memorial Award.