Edwin Parr nomination and award ceremony held in Lacombe

“All of the nominees were exceptional first year teachers.” Committee Chairperson, Lorrie Jess

  • Jun. 3, 2014 8:00 p.m.

LACOMBE On the evening of May 26, 2014 at the Edwin Parr Nomination & Award ceremonies at the Lacombe Memorial Centre in Lacombe, school jurisdictions from Central Alberta recognized and celebrated outstanding first year teachers and announced the overall recipient of this prestigious award.

For many teachers, the first year in the classroom is among the most challenging of their career with planning, preparation and striving to be an excellent teacher. Earlier this year, the eight school jurisdictions that form Zone 4 of Alberta School Boards’ Association (ASBA) were invited to nominate a beginning year teacher who demonstrated outstanding attributes as a teacher.

Each nominating jurisdiction provided a written assessment of the nominee’s teaching skills, knowledge of student learning styles, skills at utilizing a variety of instructional methodologies, ability to assist students develop a positive self-concept, involvement in professional development and extra-curricular, community activities and their personal skills with students.

The following teachers were nominated and celebrated as outstanding teachers at the beginning of their career: Jamie Bolen, Wolf Creek Public Schools; Mandi Dushank, Clearview Public Schools; Shari Klumpenhower, Chinook’s Edge School Division; Nathan Pederson, Battle River School Division; Sara Pickering, Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools; Laina Karvinen-Provencher, Red Deer Catholic Regional Schools; Staron Stan, Red Deer Public Schools.

The Edwin Parr Nomination and Award committee interviewed each nominee and visited their classroom to assess their personal characteristics and professional attributes. Committee Chairperson, Lorrie Jess, says “All of the nominees were exceptional first year teachers, and while the comprehensive assessment was helpful, choosing a finalist was a most difficult decision. To quote Rita Pierson, ‘every child deserves a champion, an adult who will never give up on them, who understands the power of connection and insists that they become the best that they can possibly be.’ These seven nominees are such champions.”

The award ceremonies ended with the presentation of the Zone 4 Edwin Parr Award to Nathan Pederson, a grade 5/6 teacher at Chester Ronning School. Nathan will be honored at the Alberta School Boards’ Association Fall General Meeting.



Just Posted

UPDATE: Highway 2 lanes were closed due to milk truck fire near Millet

A southbound truck hauling milk and cartons collided with a bridge

Ice fishing enjoyed by all

Crestomere 4-H members enjoy ice fishing

Major announcement planned for Tuesday at Westerner Park

Hopes are that the CFR will be relocating to Red Deer

Volunteers busy

Volunteers at Pas Ka Poo Park

Hockey heroes and every day heroes needed

Heroes come in all shapes and sizes

Volunteers busy

Volunteers at Pas Ka Poo Park

Global Affairs aware of report of two Canadians kidnapped in Nigeria

The foreigners were heading south from Kafanchan to Abuja when they were ambushed around Kagarko

Fatal collision in B.C. involves Alberta family

Vehicles have since been cleared and the highway is open.

Bank of Canada hikes interest rate to 1.25%, cites strong economic data

The rate increase is expected to prompt Canada’s large banks to raise their prime lending rates

Trump aces mental aptitude test designed by Canadian immigrant

“This is a good example, I think, that will be helpful to change views about immigration. And maybe for Mr. Trump himself to consider immigrants as contributors to advancing science, advancing our societies.”

Rival Koreas agree to form first unified Olympic team

The rival Koreas took major steps toward reducing their bitter animosity

Canada, U.S. lead call for sanctions against North Korea

Foreign ministers from 20 countries are meeting in Vancouver to discuss security and stability on the Korean Peninsula

Federal NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh announces engagement

Federal NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh engaged to clothing designer Gurkiran Kaur

Hijab-cutting case highlights ethical issues with putting kids in spotlight

A Toronto police investigation has concluded a girl’s hijab was not cut by a scissors-wielding man as she walked to school

Most Read