Bentley curling club ends season with increased growth and revenue

The Bentley curling club saw growth and more revenue this past season due in large part to many Sylvan Lake curlers.

The Bentley curling club saw growth and more revenue this past season due in large part to many Sylvan Lake curlers choosing to play in Bentley while their new rink is being built.

The last bonspiel of the season saw twelve teams in the year end Town & Country Open mixed bonspiel the third week of March. Winning the A event was the Wes Hawkings team with other team members Urs Mueller, Edith Attema, and Elisabeth Mueller from Bentley. They beat the John Stol foursome from Rimbey.

In the B event the winner was Lacombe skip George Ruttan, with third Brian Ruttan from Ethiopia; second Leonard Ruttan, and lead Mike Ruttan who beat out the John Hatala Rimbey team.

The C event winner was the Walter Lloyd team from Bentley with Marilyn Lloyd (third); Pierre Van Velzen (second) and Corry Van Velzen (lead). Runner up was Allan Wilson also of Bentley.

The prizes were all cash. Friday night there was a chili supper and Saturday saw a catered roast beef meal at the club. There were several door prize sponsors and everyone won something.

The club’s spring general meeting took place April 8 at the club with about 22 present. President Kyle Brink gave an informative power point presentation and reported three executive were needed.

Overall league winners were acknowledged.

The Monday seniors league was won by skip Ken Brown, third Dave Neufeld, second Michelle Lawrence, and lead Audrey Neufeld.

In the Monday night men’s league there was a tie between the Bentley team of Walter Lloyd, Wes Hawkings, Urs Mueller, and Jim Orr and the team of Joey Olson, Allan Olson, Scott Tompkins, and Don Olson from Sylvan Lake. The Olson team was the Bentley representative at the Northern Alberta Curling Association Traveler’s Playdowns at the Shamrock Club in Edmonton at the end of March.

Wednesday Mixed champs were Norm Rieu, Bonnie Muzylouski, Gary Muzylouski, and Deserie Rieu.

The Thursday morning seniors league winners were Gary Sparrow, Jim Morris, Glayde Ganderton, and Monna Sparrow.

Walter Lloyd, Marilyn Lloyd, Pierre Van Velzen, and Corry Van Velzen won the Thursday Mixed.

Gary and Monna Sparrow won the Friday morning two-person stick league.

Memberships and membership fees collected have increased as have bonspiel and bar profits. A sizable grant from Lacombe County and a grant from Conoco Philips were gratefully received.

A new ice scraper and cash register had been purchased.

A cash raffle for next year, as well as organizing a golf tournament, is being explored.

Club members will host a July 1 Canada Day barbecue downtown along with other volunteer group hosted events to help Bentley celebrate.

Bonspiel dates with some changes for next year were announced.

An ice technician is needed for next season.

New upgraded lighting in the downstairs lobby and upstairs is being considered again.

Executive is president Kyle Brink, vice president Krista Turner, secretary Bruce Cartwright, treasurer Bonnie Muzylouski, and directors Art Dykstra, Ralph Scarlett, Bruce Millar, Dawn Reid, with Tilly and Martin Wilson added.

The curling rink will soon put on a new face as the Bentley Farmers’ Market takes over the venue on Saturdays from the May long to September long weekend.


Just Posted

UPDATE: Motorist dies near Ponoka after loose tire collides with vehicle

Ponoka RCMP seek assistance in locating vehicle belonging to the tire

Six horses stolen from Winfield area

RCMP seek public’s help in missing horses investigation

Almost 100 kgs of suspected cocaine seized at Coutts border crossing

84 bricks of suspected cocaine seized from California residents’ vehicle; largest recorded seizure.

Good response to kids and drugs program

Substance abuse prevention program held

Council approves sign

New entrance signs for Rimbey

New fighter-jet competition to have national ‘economic interest’ requirement

Trudeau government wants to replace Canada’s aging CF-18s with 88 new fighters by as early as 2025

The top-binged shows on Netflix in 2017

Which show did you cheat on your spouse with by watching ahead?

2017 word of the year: Feminism

Merriam-Webster’s word of the year for 2017: ‘Feminism’

200 Russians to compete in Olympics as neutrals

The Russian Olympic Committee expects 200 to compete in South Korea

Researchers claim the ‘man flu’ does exist

Review of scientific studies suggests ‘man flu’ may be more intense: researcher

Trudeau appoints Supreme Court chief justice

Prime Minister Trudeau appoints Richard Wagner as Supreme Court chief justice

WestJet Christmas video turns children’s wishes into reality

This year’s annual video took a new spin on the 12 days of Christmas

Firefighters protect seaside California towns as blaze rages

A flare-up on the western edge of Southern California’s largest and most destructive wildfire sent residents fleeing Sunday

Most Read