Rimbey chamber prepares for lots of summer events and more local attractions

A Rimbey Chamber of Commerce meeting held at the Super 8 on May 21 attracted seven members.

A Rimbey Chamber of Commerce meeting held at the Super 8 on May 21 attracted seven members. Discussion centered around the future paving project on Hwy. 53 and bylaw changes.

Trade fair successful

Chamber members discussed the 2014 trade fair at a meeting held Wed., May 21 at the Super 8.

In her report to the chamber, manager Carrie Vaartstra said it was a success, although there were only 36 booths booked, down from the 54 booked last year. Vendors came throughout Alberta, but the number of visitors was up from last year. Blindman Valley Pony Club did a great job collecting admission. The balloon clown and face-painting artists were popular and the ‘50s theme was well received.

Community Futures donated the door prize of a barbecue and Home Hardware donated the barbecue utensils. The Bingo blackout prize was a swimming pass donated by the Town of Rimbey’s recreation department.

Vaartstra recommended a trade fair committee be established next year.

Incubator project ongoing

The Chamber has agreed to keep an incubator project on the back burner.

“We haven’t dropped it, we’ve just slowed down in trying to hit a fall deadline. It will be a 2015 project. We want to tailor it to the needs that our out there. We don’t want to rush into something and do a poor job,” said chamber president Jackie Stratton.

The town has earmarked $50,000 for the project.

Bylaw changes approved

The chamber approved the following bylaw changes:

The board of directors shall determine the annual dues payable by members of the chamber subject to the approval of the fee at a general meeting and all dues are subject to annual review.

The election of executive officers and at least three other directors shall be elected from among the members at the annual general meeting according to bylaws, policies and procedures of the chamber. The positions of president, vice president, secretary and treasurer are all one-year terms. Directors are appointed for a two-year term.

Officers and board members shall remain in office for their prescribed term or until their successors shall be appointed.