Doubles action: During play at the Bentley horseshoe tournament are junior player Troy Mantai from Wetaskiwin and club member Winnona Kilbourn from Red Deer

Horseshoe tourney still a success

Organizers were pleased with the turnout for their annual fair tournament with 29 competitors in six different classes

Organizers were pleased with the turnout for their annual fair tournament with 29 competitors in six different classes including a junior class. This was despite a conflicting major tournament being hosted in Calgary on the same weekend that saw a loss of some potential and customary entrants.

On Saturday there were 128 official games played with 5860 shoes thrown of which 1051 were ringers, so there was lots to keep track of.

The name of the winner of each class is engraved on the John Talsma Memorial perpetual club trophy.

The top two finishers in each of the “Singles” classes on Saturday were:

Mixed A – Fred Broska from Ponoka who threw 52.9% ringers which means he threw more than a ringer every single time. In second place was Tammy Christensen from Regina.

Mixed B – Paul Degagne from Red Deer. Second was Noel Peterson from Ponoka.

Mixed C – Cindy Ekkel from Wetaskiwin. In second was George Beutler from Leduc.

Mixed D – Stuart Little from Innisfail. Second place Con Taks from Innisfail.

Mixed E – Esther Hoerle from Innisfail won over Elaine Sanderman from Bowden in a playoff.

Juniors – Brayden Christensen from Regina was able to beat all three of his opponents. Placing second was Troy Mantai from Wetaskiwin.

After the prize presentations were done at the end of play, a potluck supper followed.

“Doubles” play on Sunday saw seven teams vie for their names on the annual perpetual trophy and top prize money. All were paid out because of ongoing generous donors and sponsors with everyone at least getting their entry fee back.

Winning all six of their games was Tammy Christensen from Regina and partner Clarence Sanderman from Bowden.

Kay Born from Red Deer and Harry Ekkel from Wetaskiwin placed second with four wins, and in third, after breaking the tie, was Winnona Kilbourn from Red Deer and Elaine Sanderman, also with four wins.

The 2014 recipient of the Allan Boettger Memorial V.I.P. Award, started in 2011, was Harry Ekkel.

The 50/50 draw winner was Len Tabler from Calahoo.

Continuing support from the Bentley & District Ag Society and other generous sponsors and donors helps make Bentley one of the best paying regular Alberta Horseshoe Pitchers Association tournaments on the circuit and without dedicated volunteers to do all the maintenance work, actually run the tournament, man the kitchen, and do all the organizing, it just would not happen.